REVIEW: The Terraces – The Season So Far

12 Jacket (Gatefold - One Pocket) [GDOB2-30CH-001]The Terraces – The Season So Far
LP/digital 2014 Rebel Sound Music

The Terraces is a punk rock band hailing from the UK and the suburbs of Melbourne and consists of former members of One Way System (vocalist Gary Buckley), Rose Tattoo (bassist Stephen King) and guitarist/vocalist Dean Tsolondres and drummer Henry Hollingsworth.

‘The Season So Far’ includes 11 songs taken from the self titled début album and the ‘Extra Time’ EP, including a cover of ‘Complete Control’ by The Clash and the brand new single ‘Perfect Company’.
When the first notes from opener ‘the internationals’ come out of the speakers, Cock Sparer come to mind, later on it also reminds me of the US Bombs, The Business, Hateful, … Even some Twisted Sister riffs are used in the song ‘Billiy’. So what you get is snarling, melodic mid-tempo working class punk rock with a rock and roll beat including a lot of hey’s and oh’s.

‘The Season So Far’ is an exiting punk record with songs about working class life, football, street life, … to sing-a-long. 8/10

Track list:
1. The Internationals
2. Care About Nothing
3. 25 Years
4. The Hustler
5. Short Back & Sides
6. Britannia
7. Who You Looking At
8. Billy
9. Let’s Go
10. Union
11. Complete Control
12. Perfect Company


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s