REVIEW: AVATAR – Hail The Apocalypse

Avatar-cd-cover2014AVATAR – Hail The Apocalypse
CD/LP 2014 Gain Music

Although the album is out since May 2014, I very recently received ‘Hail The Apocalypse’ from Avatar in my mailbox. The band is on European tour now and some extra attention doesn’t harm. This is my first introduction to this Göteborg (Sweden) metal band, which according to their latest album ‘Hail The Apocalypse’ looks a bid like King Diamond meets Alestorm. Since the release of their previous album ‘Black Waltz’, Avatar seems to have massive success all over the world. In 2013 the band also got asked to accompany Avenged Sevenfold on their arena tour in Europe late 2013.

The album certainly has a strong beginning with the opening track ‘Hail The Apocalypse’. It certainly give some nice expectations for the rest of the album which musically isn’t easy to chew. Avatars sound is divers and complex. It has some odd, a bid clownnesque, structured songs and a nice alternation between clean vocals and brutal screams which gives ‘Hail The Apocalypse’ an interesting sound. This certainly is a plus but it sometimes takes the brutality and sharpness out of the music.

Musically ‘Hail The Apocalypse’ is a dark, evil and catchy sounding blend of Rammstein inspired Industrial metal, some melodic death metal, some Ghost and some good old fashion heavy rock. The more you listen to it, the more I grows on you. 8/10

Track list:
1. Hail The Apocalypse
2. What I Don’t Know
3. Death Of Sound
4. Vultures Fly
5. Bloody Angel
6. Murderer
7. Tsar Bomba
8. Puppet Show
9. Get In Line
10. Something In the Way
11. Tower



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s