REVIEW: Spock’s Beard – The Oblivion Particle

Press_coversbSpock’s Beard – The Oblivion Particle
CD 2015 InsideOut Music

Legendary progressive rock band Spock’s Beard just released their 12th studio Album ‘The Oblivion Particle’ on 21 August 2015. It is the follower to their 2013 album ‘Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep’.

Although the band was founded in 1992, I only know them by name and I never ever checked out their music. Why?, well I’m not that fond on keyboard driven music, I don’t mind a good keyboard based (instrumental) song but keyboard theatrics mostly give me bad digestion. So, I guess that I’m not that objective here.

But putting those keyboard theatrics aside and after giving the album a few spins, it started to convince me of its well balanced and solid rock songs. With songs as ‘Bennett Built a Time Machine’ ‘The Oblivion Particle’ it even became a real fun listening, but honestly, I don’t think it will ever be part of my all-time favourites. 7/10

Track list:
1. Tides of Time (7:45)
2. Minion (6:53)
3. Hell’s Not Enough (6:23)
4. Bennett Built a Time Machine (6:52)
5. Get Out While You Can (4:55)
6. A Better Way To Fly (8:57)
7. The Center Line (7:25)
8. To Be Free Again (10:24)
9. Disappear (6:14)
10. Iron Man (special edition bonus track)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s