Passion For Vinyl: Bjorn Blommé

passion for vinyl

Bjorn Blommé (BE) is the co-owner of Bearded Punk Records and guitarist in the pop punk band For I Am.

Why your passion for Vinyl?
I’ve always been a CD collector but somehow, a few months ago, I woke up and could only think of vinyl. Well let’s say that in a very short amount of time I have gathered a lot of records (almost my entire CD collection). The ‘huge’ size of the records, turning them to the B-side, seeing them spin on your turntable, the sound when the needle hits the record… Boy oh boy! As a label we’re, by the way, also going to start releasing vinyl. Just put out our first order!

Which turntable do you use?
After my old Bang & Olufsen broke down I bought a Thorens Turntable. It looks nice, it sounds nice… All I need!

What are your 5 most favourite records?
I sincerely hate this question… let’s give it a try. These are the records I’ve played the most this year:

  1. Anti-Flag – For Blood and Empire
  2. Face To Face – Protection
  3. Iron Chic – Not Like This
  4. Jimmy Eat World – Bleed American
  5. Teenage Bottlerocket – Total
  6. Bad Religion – Stranger Than Fiction
  7. Blink 182 – Enema Of The State

And I’m really glad to have these gems in my collection!

 For_Blood_and_Empire_cover a2846992229_10 51Qz5XMVukL Bleedamerican Teenage_bottlerocket-total BadReligionStrangerThanFiction blink-182-enema-of-the-state

What is your most favourite album cover?
I really like the cover art of Lagwagon’s ‘Hang’. Such a powerful message/picture!

1427565141.lagwagon

Original or repress?
I don’t really care if it’s an original or a repress :-D. If I find a record that I really want I just buy it but I think most of my records are repress copies because originals are so expensive.

Black, Colour or Picture disc?
I’ve never bought a picture disc… Why not? Well because I really like coverart sleeves! It is as easy as that! I like colour discs but black ones as well… but remember: There is a difference in sound between coloured and black vinyl.

A Vinyl Tip?
– If you really want a specific vinyl… Just buy it! Otherwise you’ll regret it later ;).
– Support touring bands by buying their band merch!
– If your vinyl is warped don’t put it in the microwave! You’ll ruin your grooves
– And never forget: the first 12 inch recording was Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony.


1898199_1493732000924605_5791508454967056047_n 11402261_1010078939015886_4550515118965922617_o

BEARDED PUNK RECORDS: https://www.facebook.com/beardedpunkrecords

FOR I AM: https://www.facebook.com/foriamband/

Leave a Reply

