REVIEW: F.O.D. – Sleepville

F.O.D. – Sleepville
CD/LP 2020 Bearded Punk Records / Wiretap Records (US) / Thousand Islands Records (CAN)

Melodic Punkrockers F.O.D. have just released a new album called ‘Sleepville’ and it has become a concept/storytelling album that tells the story of an elderly woman called Annie who, together with Harrison, reflects on the past and tries to put the pieces of the puzzle that is her life back together. Concept/storytelling albums are most often associated with progrock and the 70s but other genres and artist used it too think Green Day’s American Idiot and Zen Arcade by Hüsker Dü.

Underneath the classic F.O.D. punk rock layer there is an interesting progressive rock layer with non-typical F.O.D elements like harmonic Queen alike tunes, folk passages, bluegrass techniques and additional instruments lifting F.O.D.’s traditional punk rock to a higher level. The album also reflects on the different aspects in life, the good and the bad: life, love, regret, tradition and expectations, the human rat race, solitude, me-time, conservative views, keeping up appearances, nationalism, … making it divers and coherent at the same time.

With Sleepville F.O.D. has released a groundbreaking album, something we haven’t seen before in Belgian (underground) (punk) rock music.

Sleepville is released on Bearded Punk Records (EU), Wiretap Records (US) and Thousand Islands Records (CAN). All labels and the band have their own limited vinyl colour. The vinyl comes with an illustrated lino etched book, telling the story behind the album.


  1. Sleepville guaranteed
  2. Days Of Future Passed
  3. Fall In Line
  4. Riverview
  5. Feeling Gay
  6. Wrong
  7. Food For Thought
  8. On An Island
  9. Annie
  10. Stranger In Town
  11. Changes Rise
  12. Thirtysomething And Counting
  13. Coda
  14. Main Street


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s