REVIEW: Crazy Arm – Dark Hands, Thunderbolts

Crazy Arm – Dark Hands, Thunderbolts

CD/LP/ Digital 2021 Xtra Mile Recordings

In 2013 Crazy Arm released their last record ‘The southern wild’ and a year later they almost called it a day but they would not leave before recording one last album. The songs for ‘Dark Hands, Thunderbolts’ got demoed in the summer of 2016 and they finished recording in the summer of 2020. They only spent three weeks in total working on the album but it took them four years to complete. To cut a long story short, finances, life and then Covid got in the way.

5 songs deep into ‘Dark Hands, Thunderbolts’, I’ve heard some hard rocking riffs (Montenegro), some americana, some Ennio Morricone (Blessed And Cursed) and Flogging Molly playing bluegrass (Brave Starts Here), saw Zorro riding his horse on the horizon (Fear Up) and William Wallace running the Scottish hills (Interlude: Dearborn). All this without even thinking it’s a mishmash. ‘Dark Hands, Thunderbolts’, is  not a confusing or a disorderly mixture of things but it is a perfect hybrid of hard rock, punk rock, americana, roots, folk, … I hope I got your attention here because this album is a must have. 9.5/10


01 Montenegro

02 Blessed & Cursed

03 Brave Starts Here

04 Fear Up

05 interlude: Dearborn

06 The Golden Hind

07 Loose Lips

08 Mow The Sward

09 Trail Of Meds

10 interlude: Paradiso

11 Epicurean Firestorm

12 Howl Of The Heart

13 Demonised

14 Health Is In You!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s